Who is in charge of planning in Cardiff?

Chimney belching smoke

Photo: Chris Brown, Cardiff Friends of the Earth

Are the elected councillors in charge of planning in Cardiff or Viridor?

Viridor started building their incinerator in August 2012 without having met all the planning conditions set by Cardiff Council.

After months of fruitless attempts to get Cardiff Council to stop them building, The solicitors of Cardiff Against the Incinerator (CATI) sent a legal letter to Cardiff Council asking them to enforce the planning rules by issuing a Stop Notice to Viridor.

Cardiff Council the Planning Department have now replied saying they will "consider taking appropriate enforcement action", that "an officers report will be prepared and the matter reported to the appropriate committee". They say that "the Council does not consider it appropriate to require Viridor to stop work while the matter of enforcement is being considered".

In other words the officers have no intention of stopping Viridor unless they are forced to do so by the planning committee, or by a legal injunction taken out by CATI.

Take action

Please email the members of the planning committee asking them to vote for issuing a Stop Notice to Viridor. They are:

Cllr Michael Michael.Michael@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Ahmed Ali.Ahmed@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Aubrey GAubrey@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Burfoot pburfoot@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Gordon iona.gordon@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Hinchey Graham.Hinchey@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Hudson LHudson@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Hunt Garry.Hunt@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Jones MJones@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Lent Sue.Lent@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Lomax Chris.Lomax@cardiff.gov.uk

Cllr Robson arobson@cardiff.gov.uk


Dear Councillor

I am deeply concerned about the fact that Viridor have been constructing an incinerator in Cardiff since August in breach of planning controls. The planning department were informed of this when the construction commenced but seem reluctant to take enforcement action against Viridor.

Planning officers met with representatives of Viridor in November to discuss how the situation could be resolved. The outcome of this meeting has not been made public. Construction is continuing unabated so it would appear that Viridor refused to stop construction voluntarily at the meeting. The concrete frame of the incinerator is now higher than a three story building.

Viridor have submitted an application to have some, but not all, of the planning preconditions discharged.

If the council does not take robust action against Viridor to prevent the work continuing other planning applicants are likely to see this as a sign that Cardiff Council's planning conditions will not be enforced and will act accordingly.

I understand that a report by planning officers on this development will be discussed at the January planning meeting.

Please vote in favour of issuing a Stop Notice to Viridor for breaching planning controls.

Yours faithfully